Friday, May 05, 2006


The Hobey Baker Effect

I've posted before about the alleged 'curse' of the Hobey Baker Award. Many of the winners have struggled to have any sort of meaningful career in the NHL.

Anyway, ex-blogger Ben Wright forwarded me an NHL propaganda piece regarding the Hobey Baker winners and runners-up making an impact in the playoffs. Just something to chew on this morning.


The influence of American college hockey will be on significant display during the Conference Semifinals. Rosters of the remaining teams include three winners and 16 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, which is presented annually to the top player in college hockey.
Criteria for the award, which is celebrating its 25th season, include strength of character on and off the ice, scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

The three winners are defenseman Matt Carle of San Jose (2006, Denver) and two Buffalo Sabres: goaltender Ryan Miller (2001, Michigan State) and center Chris Drury (1998, Boston University). Miller also was a finalist in 2002 and Drury was a finalist in 1996 and 1997.

The finalists: ANAHEIM – LW Chris Kunitz (2003, Ferris State), C Andy McDonald (2000, Colgate).
BUFFALO – RW Mike Grier (1995, Boston University).
COLORADO – D Rob Blake (1990, Bowling Green), C Jim Dowd (1991, Lake Superior State), D John-Michael Liles (2003, Michigan State).
EDMONTON – G Ty Conklin (2000, 2001, New Hampshire), C Shawn Horcoff of Edmonton (2000, Michigan State), G Dwayne Roloson (1994, UMass-Lowell).
NEW JERSEY – RW Brian Gionta (1999, 2000, 2001, Boston College), C John Madden (1997, Michigan), LW Jay Pandolfo (1996, Boston University), C Zach Parise (2003, 2004, North Dakota).
OTTAWA – LW Dany Heatley (2001, Wisconsin), Bryan Smolinski (1993, Michigan State).
SAN JOSE – D Tom Preissing (2003, Colorado College).


Of course, this is a good example of how many of the runners-up have had better careers than the winners :). Peter Sejna isn't exactly burning a hole in the earth, eh?

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?